Facebook


Quick Links

Return to Standard Horizon Hx851 6w Floating Handheld Vhf Radio
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Standard Horizon Hx851 handheld July 22, 2014
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
The unit arrived in a few days and in good shape. Typical for Hodges Marine. It powered up out of the box (a bit of a novel experience of late). Major functions were tested and performed as expected.  The only negative aspect is the distance between the mic. and the speaker.  This is more of a personal issue than a product issue.  Durability, time will tell though our Standard devices are relatively reliable. So, bottom line, so far so good.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Good quality June 12, 2014
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from Bend, Oregon  
Nicely designed and adequate quality for a handheld.  

My only suggestion for improvement would be a larger display, with larger text.  Currently, the displayed information is too small for my eyesight, especially under moving conditions. GPS speed is displayed, but rounded to the nearest MPH (no decimal).   Neither issue is a deal breaker however.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
First VHF hand-held radio September 24, 2013
Reviewer: Greg from Eastern N.C., Pamlico Sound  
I've had a boat-mounted unit for years, but this hand-held is great. Not only can I take it on more than one water craft, but there are tons of features, like two channel reception, multi-power levels, GPS, MMSI/DSC etc. Yaesu makes it and I've had good experience with their land-based emergency responder radios.  I hope I never lose it over the side, but it's great that it floats. I've got an adapter to connect it to the mast-head, whip antenna on my sail boat for even greater reception than it already has. Great product. It brings me real peace of mind.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
HH DSC Survival Radio June 19, 2013
Reviewer: T Stevens from Michigan  
Quite a machine. Great back up radio, and perfect for a ditch bag.
Great service from Hodges.
If there are any drawbacks it would be that it is more complicated to operate than a non DSC HH radio, but it is not rocket science.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Handheld VHF May 13, 2013
Reviewer: Papa Joe from Great Lakes to the Florida Keys  
Purchased this radio for our Boston Whaler 15 Montauk and it works perfectly in Lake Michigan, Kentucky Lake, Lake Cumberland, and in the Florida Keys. Crystal clear reception and that extra 6 watt punch make for a nice package. You can't go wrong with this radio. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Standard HX851 May 11, 2013
Reviewer: Mike Pfetsch from Silver Spring, MD  
I have not yet had the opportunity to field test this radio in marine operation. I have tested basic functionality and prepared it for operations.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Full featured at a great price March 26, 2013
Reviewer: Keith from Denver  
At first the amount of features is a bit overwhelming but one step at a time gets you where you know how to use it.  At the price point it is a superb radio and great for the ditch bag.  This has been a great purchase for me and Hodges service was simple and FAST.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great product, great pricing, great service February 5, 2013
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from North Carolina  
Very happy with the pruchase

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Has one of everything offered on VHF November 10, 2012
Reviewer: Anonymous Person from San Francisco  
It's much lighter than the two-ways you have seen in the past, very clear sound, have picked up on everything possible with a hand held, and provides a lot of confidence. Sometimes I bring to work to stay on top of weather, but used on board until I wire up my Standard Horizon 2150 soon.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great for the $$ November 6, 2012
Reviewer: Drottster from Byhalia, MS  
I am a newbie boater – but a stickler for safety. I like this device because it has everything the higher end units have, and more. It was a little complicated to learn to program, but a quick read of the book and I was good to go. So far, reception has been great. The speaker gets loud so when I am running, I can hear things. The one thing I don’t know is if the DSC service is available at certain intercostal lakes that I go to. I did want this radio for when I visit the cost though also.
The battery life seems great. I just had to charge it for the first time yesterday. The SOG and COG functions are accurate – I verified them. The waypoint function is cool. I would recommend this radio as a primary or secondary device to any boater.


Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items