Facebook


Quick Links

Return to Standard Horizon Hx851 6w Floating Handheld Vhf Radio
Sort By::
Page of 2
Previous   


  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great for the $$ November 6, 2012
Reviewer: Drottster from Byhalia, MS  
I am a newbie boater – but a stickler for safety. I like this device because it has everything the higher end units have, and more. It was a little complicated to learn to program, but a quick read of the book and I was good to go. So far, reception has been great. The speaker gets loud so when I am running, I can hear things. The one thing I don’t know is if the DSC service is available at certain intercostal lakes that I go to. I did want this radio for when I visit the cost though also.
The battery life seems great. I just had to charge it for the first time yesterday. The SOG and COG functions are accurate – I verified them. The waypoint function is cool. I would recommend this radio as a primary or secondary device to any boater.


Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Horizon HX851 October 27, 2012
Reviewer: Anonymous Person  
Feature packed! I use this handheld VHF radio on my fishing boat on the upper Chesapeake. The scanning, floating, and digital calling capabilities are great advantages. Works flawlessly.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Standard Horizon Hx851. March 15, 2012
Reviewer: Dave from Atlantic City, NJ  
Very nice radio - great for safety in boating where I move from boat to canoe quite frequently.   While it does allow input of waypoints, data entry is very laborious.  Would not use it as a gps for navigation.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Fast, perfect November 7, 2011
Reviewer: AZ Phil from Arizona  
Hodges had a super price on this great marine radio. It arrived almost immediately and in perfect condition. I live on the other side of the country but you wouldn't know by the service.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Standard Horizon HX 851 April 13, 2011
Reviewer: Antonio Ramon from Venezuela  
Excellent Handheld VHF Radio

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
Standard Horizon Hx851 6w Floating Vhf W/Glow In T October 12, 2010
Reviewer: joe boccuti from turnersville, NJ United States  
Great service from hodges, best price and hx 851 is a great hand held radio.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
The Best!! NEED I SAY MORE? September 21, 2010
Reviewer: Dave from Mayville WIS  
This does EVERYTHING I need. I can Hear the weather, Coast Guard. Distress calls. All from my 17' Colman scanoe! On Lake Michigan. Buy it. you won't regret it!! Also I use it for my Bayliner Discovery. And It's completely portable, comes standard with cigarette and wall charger! Great!! A++++

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
Great Radio...Thanks Hodges July 7, 2010
Reviewer: Richard Puchalik from Pompton Plains, NJ United States  
I've purchased the Standard Horizon Hx851 as a backup radio.  I belong to a boat club so I take out a different boat every weekend.  They usually supply radios, but Im more comfortable with my own.  The radio has worked flawlessly, I've yet to submurse it in water (and hope it'll never happen).  The battery life has been excellent, the reception is great and the GPS reciever captures a signal in a matter of minutes.  Fetures like scan and preset channels are a great to have.  I haven't registered for an MMSI number, so I can't comment on that (expect to do that soon).

Overall great radio, and a great service from Hodges.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Previous